A Sample Menu Page

This week I started a new notebook for menu-planning.  I have a one page summary which I post on the refrigerator, but then put in-depth plans for each day in the notebook (this is a trick I picked up from working in a commercial kitchen…it’s tremendously helpful).  In the in-depth page I can make notes of which page and cookbook recipes can be found, to-do notes for things I need to make ahead, and reminders of appointments and other things that might interfere with meal times.  When I am finished with the menu I draw up a master grocery list for the week–this helps avoid my frequent problem of buying one pepper when I need three, or forgetting something at the farmer’s market and having to wait until the next week.

I’ll post the in-depth entry for one day this week to give you an idea of what my notebook looks like:

September 7

Overview:

  • Lunch: Stir Fry
  • Dinner: Green Bean Hotdish

Lunch

Vegetable Stir Fry over Soba Noodles

-sauce using lime juice and tamari, fresh chopped cilantro garnish

-julienne carrots, green onions, green bell pepper, peas, tofu, broccoli, water chestnuts, spinach

Dinner

Green Bean and Artichoke Bake

-use recipe from 1000 Vegan Recipes

-topping using Parmiaso, p.193 of 1000 Vegan Recipes


To Do

Bake cornbread for tomorrow (Joy of Vegan Baking recipe)

Bake apples from orchard (apple chips?)

Also Today

First day of school

Schedule dentist appointment

Tags:

Leave a Reply

