Vegan MoFo Day 5: Mainstream Monday

This is a perfect day for Mainstream Monday, because as it happens, everything I ate today was mainstream.  So, instead of recipes or reviews or anything fancy like that, why don’t I just list my meals for the day?

Breakfast:

chex

chex

oat milk

oat milk

camerons coffee

cameron's coffee

Lunch:

healthy choice bread

healthy choice bread

sandwich vegetables: tomato, spinach, cucumber, peppers

sandwich vegetables: tomato, spinach, cucumber, peppers

McCain Trax

McCain Trax

Dinner:

hy-vee whole wheat penne

hy-vee whole wheat penne

hunts pasta sauce

hunt's pasta sauce

Snacks:

halloween oreos

halloween oreos

capn crunch!

cap'n crunch!

Note: Clicking images brings you to where I got them from, not necessarily the product’s website.

As you can see, I wasn’t the healthiest of vegans today, but we all have our ups and downs.  Mondays are usually a down for me.  Also as you can see, vegans do not only eat lettuce.  Far from it; in fact, I don’t even really like lettuce.   My diet is usually much more balanced than this, but it so happened that I didn’t have many groceries in the house today, nor a lot of time with which to cook from scratch.

Anyway, the point isn’t that I ate a lot of junk today.  The point is that I fed myself for an entire day with nothing but foods that can be found in any grocery store (except maybe the oat milk, but that can be easily made at home or substituted with any non-dairy milk).  And I was full and happy and had plenty of calories.

PS:  Please don’t give me crap for using canned pasta sauce.  It is my dirty little secret and you should be honored that I trust you enough to share it with you.  I promise I only use it once in a while.

Reason #5 for being vegan: cruelty-free clothing materials–polyester, faux leather, cotton and more–are often less expensive than coats and shoes made of wool, fur, or leather.  These items last as long as the non-vegetarian versions and are just as comfortable and stylish!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

