Vegan MoFo: Farmer’s Market Friday

Welcome to day 2 of Vegan MoFo (though it’s almost over, it still counts!).  I’m posting late because my original idea didn’t work out:  I got done roasting the butternut squash for my cheezy potato boats and realized I didn’t have any potatoes, which are, um, sort of necessary for making potato boats*.  But then I started feeling ill and decided not to leave the house to buy more.  So, the potato boats will have to wait.

*You may ask why I would fail to realize my lack of potatoes if I had the intention of making potato skins.  I bought a 5 pound bag of potatoes earlier this week…no joke, probably Tuesday.  So any logical person would not expect them to be gone already.  I guess I underestimated how much we like potatoes in our household.

I’ll post as soon as I get more potatoes.  In the meantime, you can still enjoy Farmer’s Market Friday!

Today’s Secret Ingredient: Parsley

Tabouleh

I was recently invited to a Minnesota School Nutrition Association chapter meeting about the Farm-to-School program.  We were asked to bring a dish made using one of the recipes on the Farm-to-School website.

I made the Tabouli (tabbouli, tabbouleh, taboulli) recipe.  But then I changed it, because I know what real tabbouleh tastes like, and their recipe is nothing near correct (to their credit, the recipes are made with school kids in mind, and most grade school kids would not eat real tabbouleh).

Go ahead and make their recipe; it’s a nice base.  Then drizzle in some olive oil and lemon juice, and add more parsley and garlic.  Then add more parsley again.  When you’re done, add some more parsley.  Do you have any parsley left?  Toss it in for good measure.

Ah, that’s better.  Make sure to do a mirror check after you’re done eating as your teeth will most likely be full of parsley.

The tabouleh was really fun to make because it was all local save for the olive oil, the lemon juice and the bulgur, and those were all purchased in bulk from the co-op.  I got the tomatoes, parsley, cucumber, garlic, and onion from a local farmer, and paid about $4 total for it.  With the other ingredients, this recipe comes to about $6 total, or a mere 60 cents per serving.

So did the people at the meeting enjoy it?  I wouldn’t know, because my dear fiance ate all of the tabbouleh while I was out of the house, and it never made it to the potluck at all.  I did manage to get a bite and thought it was pretty good (after my additions, of course).  Give it a try; parsley is actually a pretty decent food despite its bad rap as a garnish.

Reason #2 for going vegan:  You’ve got an excuse to avoid your grandma’s fruitcake!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: Farmer’s Market Friday”

  1. laura Says:

    hahaha, 4 tsp of herb! yeah, you’re right, good tabouli should be mostly green with a sprinkling of the rest of the ingredients.

    • thebumblingbaker Says:

      I know, right? I made their recipe and looked down at the bowl, and saw brown, and thought… oh, those poor Minnesotans, they don’t even know what tabouli is, do they?

  2. Steph Says:

    Tabbouleh is one of my all time faves. I recently went to a Lebanese Festival and purchased a large container of it. It was gone within probably 1/2 hour, no joke. I just could not stop myself.

    Parsley *is* a great ingredient, I totally agree!!

    • thebumblingbaker Says:

      YUM! a Lebanese festival, that sounds fun! I don’t know if I’d be able to restrain myself on the food, though!

Leave a Reply

